Serendipitous music

I’m not sure if this is quite serendipitous or not. Yes I may have lied in the title. The fact is, I’ve spent months pruning my iPod of the songs I don’t really like, so what happened today was sort of inevitable in a sense. My iPod had one of those moments where it picked the best songs for me all in a row. So I thought I would share. Please note that songs have been rearranged for maximum universal harmony.

Part 1 – the slow songs (playlist on youtube)

Cello – Slowdive

Chernobyl 2 – Radiohead (So slow and yet filled with tension and sadness)

Candy Girl – Low (fun fact #1 – Low are a mormon band. Fun fact #2 – My favourite band name ever would be ‘The Mormon Mafia’. If anyone wants to start this band with me, let me know)

Caramel – Blur

Carbon Monoxide – Regina Spektor (yes its a coincidence that all the songs on this list start with the letter c. I do love Regina Spektor, she’s someone who brings her personality out with her voice, which few singers can do)

Busby Berkeley Dreams – The Magnetic Fields

California – Rufus Wainwright

Chelsea Hotel no. 2 – Rufus Wainwright (song by Leonard Cohen)

Cars hiss by my window – The Doors

A Chicken With its Head Cut Off – The Magnetic Fields

Careless Whisper – Rufus Wainwright and Ben Folds (if you can find the live version where everyone screams when Rufus starts singing, that’s the best one)

 

Part 2 – The non-slow songs (playlist on youtube)

Bullet with Butterfly Wings – The Smashing Pumpkins (remember this song? If you’re as old as me, perhaps you do)

Bulls on Parade – Rage Against the Machine

Burn – Nine Inch Nails (a great song when you’re feeling like throwing something at the wall)

Calm Like a Bomb – Rage Against the Machine

Can’t change the beat – Combichrist

Capital G (epworth phones mix) – Nine Inch Nails

Change the Formality – Infected Mushroom (fun fact – Infected Mushroom is the only show I’ve ever been ejected from)

Chase After Myself – You Love Her Coz She’s Dead (I couldn’t find this one on youtube)

The Child in Me – Clan of Xymox

The Butcher – Radiohead

Call the Ships to Port – Covenant

 

What have you been listening to? I’m always keen to discover new music.

Leave a Reply

