Day 3 – birthday

In another world

you are slicing

an exquisite cake

with your temple dancer hands

instead here tonight…

in another world

you hand me a parcel

wrapped in newspaper and black tape

instead here tonight

they hand me a bottle of pills

‘take four every day’ they say

and perhaps someday you will

be

better

but most likely not

in another world

I sit surrounded by lights

and voices play off the terracotta walls

in delicate tendrils of laughter

one could almost mistake this for a party

instead here tonight

I sit alone, only myself and the colour red

for company

in another world

I feel loved

on my birthday

 

Leave a Reply

