Quotations about death

‘Is it morbid to think about death all the time?’ Someone once asked. It may have been me. Here are some quotations about death that you may find enlightening, interesting or depressing. No other emotions are permitted!

“Seems like the only kind of job an American can get these days is committing suicide in some way.”
– Breakfast of Champions – Kurt Vonnegut
Permalink

The thought that I might kill myself formed in my mind coolly as a tree or a flower.
– The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

A heart that’s full up like a landfill
A job that slowly kills you
Bruises that won’t heal
– No Surprises – OK Computer Radiohead
Permalink

‘Youth is the only thing worth having. When I find that I am growing old, I shall kill myself.’
– The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
*********************

German: The machine is mankind’s madness and disfigurement. Industry castrates art. The only honesty is in suicide.
Jack: I can’t watch any more of these German sitcoms!
– 30 Rock – Tina Fey
Permalink

*********************

Read that for men under 34 the biggest killer is car accidents. Second is suicides. Spent a while wondering what the third was. Hit my head against the wall a few times.
– Household Worms – Stanley Donwood
Permalink

I’m not living I’m just killing time
– True Love Waits –¬† Radiohead
*********************

Suicide is what everyone young thinks they’ll do before they get old. But they hardly ever get round to it.
– Other People – Martin Amis
Permalink

3 thoughts on “Quotations about death

Leave a Reply

