I’m off my meds!

It wasn’t just one thing, it was…like two things. All the side effects from my meds combined with the fact that I haven’t really felt they’ve been helping, aand the realization that I’ve now been on this stuff for a year, and I decided it was time to quit.

I know that most antidepressants take about 14 days to build up to an effective level in your system, and this means that when you stop taking them, your body goes into something like a withdrawal. Typically after a few days, you start to feel like crap as you begin to adjust back to normal brain chemistry. People can be a little moody during this period…

This is why doctors tell you to withdraw from these things slowly. But I decided, as I often do, to say ‘screw that’ and just stop taking them. I think Saturday was my first day off. By Monday I was crying a lot. Seriously. A lot. That continued through Tuesday, but today I haven’t cried as much. My head still feels like it’s full of sort of… fluffy electricity and I can’t think clearly, but I’m hoping that will be better soon.

So far no, I don’t feel any better. But at least I’m down to two meds now, and if I can get off those, then I have no reason to keep seeing a psychiatrist. Yuck.

In honour of stopping meds, here’s Medication by Garbage.
I don’t need an education
I learnt all I need from you
They’ve got me on some medication
My point of balance was askew
It keeps my temperature from rising
My blood is pumping through my veins

Somebody get me out of here
I’m tearing at myself
Nobody gives a damn about me or anybody else

I wear myself out in the morning
You’re asleep when I get home
Please don’t call me self defending
You know it cuts me to the bone
And it’s really not surprising
I hold a force I can’t contain

And still you call me co-dependent
Somehow you lay the blame on me
And still you call me co-dependent
Somehow you lay the blame on me

Somebody get me out of here
I’m tearing at myself
I’ve got to make a point these days
To extricate myself

And still you call me co-dependent
Somehow you lay the blame on me
And still you call me co-dependent

Somehow you lay the blame on meĀ 

Leave a Reply

