Am I bored with online dating already? Or is it bored with me?

After a brief flurry of excitement that included me messaging an extremely attractive and intelligent sounding girl and setting up a possible date when she gets back to the area next month, very little has happened over at Plenty of Fish… oh wait I mean POF. POF POF POF. It sounds like a French expression meaning ‘I hate you and everything you say’. It also reminds me of this ridiculous song from The High Life. Yes that is Alan Cumming.

POF has the wonderful ‘who’s viewed me’ feature. Yes, you can watch people reject you in almost real-time. So despite the fact that a bunch of people have viewed my profile, I haven’t had any messages (except from the above-mentioned gorgeous blonde). And that of course leads me to ‘what’s wrong with me/my profile?’ Yeah online dating is definitely good for my self-esteem. Therefore, inspired by SnarkySnatch, find below my profile. Critique, correct, facepalm if you must. Should I downplay the crazy and change my headline, or be honest and turn away all those girls who are looking for a ‘nice, normal guy’? am I too forward? Too backward? Too oblique? Should I list more bands? Less bands? Be less ‘meta’? Gah!

About Me
I have been told I’m a complicated person, and that I’m not like other boys, and that might be true. I think a lot, and I don’t want the same things as most boys. I’ve had an interesting life, and it’s taken me all over the world and taught me a lot. Right now what I want is to have the free time to be creative, in whatever form that takes at the time. I’m naturally a very giving person, so it makes sense that I want a relationship. Unfortunately I don’t know anyone in the new city I’m living in, so I’m hoping to meet some fun people online.Oh, music. Shall I do the ‘random’ list thing? Usually when I read other people’s I’ve never heard of the bands, which sort of gave me the idea that it was supposed to be obscure bands. But screw that. Radiohead, Thom Yorke, Elliott Smith, Rufus Wainwright, Nick Drake, NIN, Regina Spektor, Chopin, The Prodigy, The Chemical Brothers, Depeche Mode, Kid Koala, Combichrist, Neil Young, Leonard Cohen, Magnetic Fields, Joy Division, Portishead.

First Date
no judgement, my ideal first date would probably be… wandering the city streets and talking. The people I like are people I can talk endlessly with. We’d find something interesting, perhaps some street art or a great place to sit and people watch. Maybe stop somewhere to grab food, but not in a ‘dinner and candlelight’ sort of way. Somewhere nice. Then we might get candy and wander some more, and if you’re wonderful we could go to my place and watch a Woody Allen movie and cuddle. I love cuddles.
[edit]
What do you think of this new version:
I have been told I’m a complicated person, and that I’m not like other boys… and that might be true. I think a lot, and I don’t want the same things as most boys. I’ve had an interesting life, and it’s taken me all over the world and taught me a lot. Right now what I want is to have the free time to be creative, in whatever form that takes at the time, and to have someone in my life to share that with. I write poetry and short fiction, make music, and sometimes even draw (badly). I also program websites in whatever other time I have. I’m naturally a very giving person, so it makes sense that I would like a relationship, provided of course that the right person comes along. Unfortunately I don’t know anyone in the new city I’m living in, so I’m hoping to meet some fun people online. Other random facts? I have lived on three continents. I have never been to the moon. Strangely, given that I’m British and nerdy, my favourite sport is baseball.
5 thoughts on “Am I bored with online dating already? Or is it bored with me?

  1. okay, i’m looking at this objectively as if i were actually on pof reading your profile, so please don’t hate me for being harsh!

    One item of interest: ” I’m naturally a very giving person, so it makes sense that I want a relationship” This sentence may make you seem on the overly available side. I think there’s a happy balance between being too available, but still wanting something serious. I may add in there that it makes sense that you want, or are ready for, a relationship “if the right person comes along”.

    Okay, next up. cuddles are not appropriate for a first date- if you really are looking for an actual relationship and not just casual dating and/or one night stands. as nice as cuddling is, and i do enjoy it too, i would not go out with a guy who suggested it on our first date.

    Now, for a suggestion on an addition: the one thing that has piqued my interest in a guys profile is mentioning what he’s passionate about. whether its reading, politics, baseball or even gaming, it’s gives me a better impression of who he is as a person. you mention that it’s important to have the time to be creative, maybe elaborate on that a little bit?

    hopefully this helped, and good luck!

  2. Oh that totally helped, thank you! I did want to communicate my love of cuddles, although I generally wouldn’t expect them on our first date. In fact I cheated and just described my best date ever, which probably wasn’t a good idea. Also I wasn’t sure about saying that I wanted a relationship either… so I’ll change that. Thank you thank you!

  3. Pingback: Dating profile turn-offs | browneyesandlenses

  4. Personally, I’d have sex with you after reading that profile. But I usually have sex with those that read my blog. 😉

    Great post! Great profile!

Leave a Reply

